

Reference: 248711

July 3, 2019

VIA EMAIL: chief@cowichantribes.com; chairperson@cvrd.bc.ca; jill@cowichanwatershedboard.ca

Chief William Seymour
Co-Chair Cowichan Watershed Board
Cowichan Tribes
5760 Allenby Road
Duncan, British Columbia
V9L 511

Chair Ian Morrison Co-Chair Cowichan Watershed Board Cowichan Valley Regional District 175 Ingram Street Duncan, British Columbia V9L 1N8

Dear Chief Seymour and Chair Morrison:

Thank you for your letter of May 2, 2019, regarding the meeting on April 8, 2019, with staff, MLA Furstenau, Minister Heyman and me.

I understand that staff from the West Coast Natural Resource Region worked with you to prepare an initial submission to the federal BC Salmon Restoration and Innovation Fund. I am hopeful that this project is selected for a detailed proposal.

I appreciate the effort required to prepare a detailed proposal through the BC Salmon Restoration and Innovation Fund. I am conscious of the role of statutory decision maker under the *Water Sustainability Act* to remain at arm's length, and cannot provide specific support on a proposal that suggests the province will take out a water licence. It is my understanding that the review of the proposals will be based on merit to determine the best use of the funding for salmon restoration and innovation from a biological perspective. I appreciate your reluctance to hold a water licence, as expressed in your letter, given the potential liability; however, as indicated in my correspondence of November 22, 2018, we continue to believe that it would not be appropriate for the province to apply for a water licence.

Staff in the West Coast Natural Resource Region are currently seeking internal funding to explore the feasibility of developing a Water Sustainability Plan for the Koksilah River, and will update the Cowichan Watershed Board staff at upcoming meetings.

Thank you for your invitation to visit the Cowichan Watershed. I will get back to you regarding this invitation. We look forward to continuing to work collaboratively with the Cowichan Watershed Board both now and into the future.

Sincerely,

Doug Donaldson Minister

pc: Alistair MacGregor, MP, Cowichan-Malahat-Langford

Honourable Scott Fraser, Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation

Honourable George Heyman, Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy Sonia Furstenau, MLA, Cowichan Valley

Doug Routley, MLA, Nanaimo-North Cowichan

Mark Zacharias, Deputy Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy

Kelly Sather, Senior Ministerial Assistant, Ministry of Environment and Climate Change Strategy

Kenn McLaren, Ministerial Assistant, Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development

Jennifer McGuire, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Environment and Climate Change Strategy

Craig Sutherland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development

Sharon Hadway, Regional Executive Director, West Coast Natural Resource Region, Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development

Tom Rutherford, Executive Director, Cowichan Watershed Board

Brian Carruthers, Chief Administrative Officer, Cowichan Valley Regional District Larry Barr, Director, Resource Management, West Coast Natural Resource Region,

Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development

Lynn Kriwoken, Director, Water Protection and Sustainability, Ministry of Environment and Climate Change Strategy

Larry George, Lands and Treaty Manager, Cowichan Tribes

Pat Lapcevic, Section Head, Water Protection, West Coast Natural Resource Region, Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development

Dave Robinson, Acting Section Head Water Authorizations, West Coast Natural Resource Region, Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development